Sunsets & three legged cats

IMG_460410957

I’m so lucky to live close to a place like Ellwood. These clouds were such brilliant shades of pink–the picture doesn’t come close to matching it. I also met a cat with three legs and no ears whose tag read Cosmo. Very friendly.

The ocean is one of the most cliché things to paint. It also happens to be one of the most difficult things to paint. All those horizontal lines make for a pretty static composition. But around sunset yesterday, the waves were catching the sunset and turning this gorgeous glassy green–I had to at least try to capture it.

IMG_460410840

Attempt #1 is on top, and attempt #2 is below it. Both are gouache. The one on top was done there at the beach, and the second one I did at home, looking at the first one. Honestly I don’t like either of them, but I think the second turned out better. Things are always easier the second time, when you have a more concrete idea of what you’re going for. I might be riffing on this little scene for a while.

I make no secret of my undying love for Drake. His most recent album is, of course, a masterpiece, but this track off of Nothing Was The Same remains one of my favorites.

Leave a comment